Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Cycling trio wins track national title - Milligan - Milligan

Cycling trio wins track national title

Cycling trio wins track national title

ROCK HILL, S.C. (Sept. 12, 2019) – Freshman Megan Jastrab, junior Manuela Escobar and freshman Gracie Pendleton of the Milligan College cycling team won the 2019 Collegiate Women's Team Pursuit Thursday on the first day of the USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships. This marks the cycling program's fourth individual national title in its history.

The Milligan trio posted a combined winning time of 5:07.5 which was over one second faster than the rest of the field. Jastrab, Escobar and Pendleton follow Madeline Bemis (2018/mountain bike omnium), Stephanie Nave, Zoe Mullins, Hannah Swan and Morgan Miller (2016/road race team time trial), and Lauretta Hanson (2015 omnium) as Milligan cycling's individual national champions. The program also has posted four team national titles since 2015.

Isaac Bryant, Keith Mullaly, Erik Castillo and Brian Sciba highlighted the men's side on day one of the national championship event, placing seventh in the men's pursuit.

Milligan continues the event Friday and Saturday with more national championship action. The individual pursuit, point race and final to the sprints are scheduled for Friday. Time trials, scratch race and coed team sprint are set for Saturday.