Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Milligan defeats Montreat in AAC tournament - Milligan - Milligan

Milligan defeats Montreat in AAC tournament

Milligan defeats Montreat in AAC tournament

KINGSPORT, Tenn. (Nov. 14, 2019) – The Milligan College women's volleyball team continued their winning streak into the Appalachian Athletic Conference tournament, defeating Montreat College in three sets (25-21, 25-17, 25-16) Thursday night. With Thursday's win the Buffs increase their win streak to 12 games.


Milligan and Montreat were back and forth the entire first set until Milligan was able to pull away in the last few points and go on a 10-3 run to win the first set. 15 of Milligan's points came from kills. Carley Gregory and Julia Codispoti had five kills apiece.  

Milligan carried the momentum over to the second set, never losing the lead to the Cavs. Milligan led by as many as 10 at one point during the set. 17 of their points came from kills in the second set. Gregory and Julie Dockery both led the Buffs in kills with six and four apiece in the second set.

The third set was almost identical to the second with the Buffs never losing the lead. Milligan went on a 10-4 run to put themselves up 19-11 and distance themselves from the Cavaliers. Codispoti led the Buffs offense with five kills.

By the numbers

After being named Player of the Year and Setter of the Year, Kellee Geren finished the night with her 15th double-double of the season with 39 assists and 10 digs. Gregory, Codispoti and Dockery finished the night with double digit kills with 13, 12 and 10 respectively. The defense was led by Layla Grant with 15 digs and Cameron McConnell with 12.

Up next

With tonight's win the Buffs advance to the semifinals where they will face Truett McConnell at 6 p.m. on Friday. The winner of that game will face the winner of Reinhardt and Union in the championship game on Saturday at 3 p.m. Milligan can qualify for the NAIA Women's Volleyball National Championship by winning the AAC tournament or finishing runner-up to Reinhardt.